Sunday, February 27, 2011

Trying to settle in

So we put an offer on a house....it's a really great deal as long as the roof checks out ok.
 I am working part-time at Railworks-they build/repair/maintain railroad tracks.  It's not a hard job but the working environment leaves a lot to be desired.  I am still actively looking for fulltime employment.  I know eventually, I will get the job I am supposed to have...I'm just not sure how long I'll have to wait.
I knew that it was going to be hard adjusting to this move, but to tell the truth, I didn't know it was going to be this hard.

I have made a total of 0 friends since moving here.  I know I should "get out there and make some" but I'm not 20yrs old.  I'm not really into going to bars to meet people, I don't really care for the people I work with, I really just miss my friends in Louisiana.  As hard as the move there was, at least I had Cathy there and eventually, Paula & Scott and I had a great job with great people at B&B.

My mom has been here with me since December 1st.  I am really grateful although I know it's not been a real picnic for her...I've been...hmm, not a very fun person to be with but she's been a real trooper and has stuck it out.  She knows how miserable I have actually been.

It looks like JC will only be visiting us for at the most, 3 weeks.  He's applied for A-HEC (A-Hec provides students with the chance to explore health careers firsthand. Students learn how to apply the information learned in high school classes to the health care industry. Participants have the opportunity to develop relationships with health care industry mentors and professionals.  Students earn their CPR certification and first aid training Students earn one half unit of general elective credit at all Louisiana high schools while providing more than 100 hours of volunteer community service to their community.) which is the end of May-beginning of June. He's also working at Old Navy and is going to Big Stuf in Panama Beach, Fla June 20-24th.  So that doesn't leave him very much time to come here.  I HATE HAVING TO BE A SELFLESS PARENT!! IT SUCKS! but I love him and want what is best for him, dammit.


I hope that it gets better, surely it will, right?

Jackie should be pregnant in the next 6 months and hopefully I will get to be a part of that life experience with her, so that will be great.  I can not wait to witness my baby girl being a mom...she is natural-born for motherhood and I know how fun it is going to be for her & Vincent.

So that's what's been going on with me, just some self-pity and trying to adjust to this move :)

Monday, January 3, 2011

2011 Goals

Goals for 2011...

1.   Get a job
2.   Buy a car
3.   Buy a house
4.   Get mom's house sold and her moved
5.   Try to be more health-conscious
6.   Try to not be so emotionally sensitive
7.   Be a better parent
8.   Be a better wife
9.   Be a better friend
10. Find a church (still watching services online)

Friday, December 31, 2010

Farewell

Goodbye 2010...you have been quite unpredictable and have really thrown me for a loop at times.  I will say that I am glad to begin anew yet somewhat will miss what was in 2010.













Friday, October 15, 2010

Homecoming 2010

So JC's homecoming was last weekend.  I wished I had been able to be there, but sadly, I couldn't. I did get pictures....Here they are:

Spirit Week at school before homecoming....each day was a different way to show spirit.

I have no idea what he is supposed to be.


I love him so much!

I hope he was supposed to be a geek :)
Here are pre-dance pics (I don't have any after-dance pics)

 This is Alaina Proctor.  I love Alaina and have always wished JC and her would "hook up"...but they are just good friends, she is one of the sweetest girls ever. ------------------------->
 Hmm, what's up with the pink ruffled dress on the end???
.
.
<------
 Pay attention!! Apparently he was having the hideous "mum" thing issue------>


                                   
 He's hot, they know it :)
.
<-----






I really wish I had been there, {sigh}, He's growing up too darn fast!


On a completely unrelated topic,  I BOUGHT HIS PLANE TICKET TO COME HOME FOR THANKGIVING!!! YAY!!

CAN'T WAIT TO SEE HIM!!

Thursday, September 30, 2010

New job, same job

So, I started work about a month ago at THD At-Home Services.   If you don't know what THD stands for, its The Home Depot.  Yes, that's right, Home Depot.  I got the job through a temp agency so technically, I'm not an employee of THD, I'm employed by Kelly Services at THD.  I'm only supposed to work there through the busy season which is now till the beginning of December.  The office is in New Castle, PA which is about a 35 minute drive from where we live in Ohio.  Sometime the end of November/beginning of December they are moving the offices to Cranberry Township, PA which a suburb of Pittsburgh, PA. That would be over an hour drive one way for me.

But whatever, I'm working and it feels great.  The job is very, very similar to the job I had in Lousiana, except I don't have to deal with any of the install issues.  They have someone else that handles that, which is great as far as I'm concerned.  I really enjoy going to work and having other adults to interact with during the day.

One of the girls that works there had a birthday on Tuesday, I baked her a home-made cheese cake and made mixed berry sauce for the topping.  She liked it so much, she has asked how much I would charge to make one on a weekly basis for her sister's Bar & Grill restaurant.  I am really enjoying working.

There's just one thing that is niggling at the back of my mind though, I am getting way too invested in the job and I don't believe that things are not going to end very well.

Oh yeah, P.S. Jackie, you have not posted a blog in a very, very long time and I think you need to.  Love you :)

Wednesday, September 1, 2010

Killing Time

I start work on Tuesday, September 5th.  I am excited.  To kill time and try to not be so BORED, I decided to go to Dayton to see my mom and Jackie this past weekend.  I brought Jules with me to keep me company on the drive, plus, he's as bored as I am due to the job he had didn't work out (that's another store all on it's own!).

We got on the road about 4:30pm.  I had a hair appointment that I couldn't change and when I got home around 3:30pm Jules was in the shower (he had mowed the grass). 

Rob was up and in a very grumpy mood...I asked him why and he said, "someone mowed and let the dogs bark the entire time."   I thought to myself, "baby...at least you don't have to mow!".  BUT, I kept that to myself (working on the self-control thing) and said "Oh, well after we leave you can go back to bed and sleep as long as you like."
He snarled a little.

So anyway, I went out and checked the oil in the car to make sure it didn't need any, which it didn't (yay)  becuase Rob said he was going to go fishing and to leave the truck (I knew that he wouldn't get motivated enough to go but I wasn't going to argue with him).  I put the suitcase & bag in the car and then waited for Jules to get done.  I swear he takes longer than a girl to get ready!

We finally got on the road around 4:30pm.  I had the gps set to mom's and off we went.  Well about 20 minutes into the drive, the gps said to stay on 80, but the map showed to go on 76...I freaked out a little and ended up getting on the 80 turnpike.  Right after I realized I had made a horrible mistake but there was NO WHERE TO TURN AROUND!!  So, we went 45 miles out of our way and even had to stop at a rest area so I could get some cash to pay the stupid toll!

We got to mom's around 8:45pm (not to bad of timing considering the detour).  The rest of the evening was uneventful.

We got up Saturday and went to see Grandma & Grandaddy Baxley.  Let me tell you, I love them to pieces, I hope I am that happy when I get to be there age!  Grandma had made some buffalo chips and boy were they good!  I went outside with Grandaddy and we picked some cherry tomatoes, green peppers and looked at his flowers....I loved it!

We left there around 11:00 and headed back to mom's.  I had made plans to go over to Lisa Russell's (a high school friend) and see her house she just bought in Belmont.  It's in the neighborhood right behind the church that Rob & I got married in...Lisa and her ex also was married in that church.

So, we got Jules out of bed and he showered and we left and went to Lisa's.  It is a cute little (and I mean L.I.T.T.L.E. house), but it suits her just fine!  We went all went to Frickers for lunch and it was yummilious!  After we dropped Lisa back off at her house, we went over to Jackie's and visited till her friend with the twin girls came to visit.  They are adorable but mom was tired and to be truthful, I was too!

After we got home, I called Emily and she ended up coming over and we ate Cassano's pizza and played some 500 Rummy...Jules kicked our butts!

Emily and Jules both left and I put my jammies on and went out to the backroom and watched some tv with mom for a while.  All in all, it was a great day and I didn't get bored.

We got up Sunday and Jackie had some running around to do so she came over and we all went shopping for the better part of the day.  We went to Kohl's because Jackie needed to return a pair of Capri's (which she forgot at home so we didn't really need to go there but did anyway:)  I got a couple pair of jeans that were on clearance and a couple tops on clearance...Mom got some underwear and Jackie got....hmmm, I don't remember what she got.  But we left there and went to Bed, Bath & Beyond and Jackie got the chopper I had told her about and mom and I just wandered around the store looking at everything.  We left there and went to lunch at Fox & Hound.  It was delicious. I had a french dip sandwich with sweet potato fries and mom & Jackie shared a bbq chicken pizza.  We left there and of course, had to stop at Target (Jackie needed her fix!).  I ended up getting an insulated lunch bag since I'll be starting to work NEXT WEEK~~YAY!  Mom got some more underwear and again, I don't know what Jackie got...that's weird that I can't remember what she bought at any of the places we went...oh well.

It was getting late and I didn't want to drive back home in the dark so I decided to stay until Monday morning.  We got up around 7:30am and drank coffee, played on the computer a little, I packed up our bags and put them in the car and we left around 10:30am.

Jackie had mentioned that there was a Raising Cane's in Columbus and Jules & I were all over that!  We stopped there around 12:30pm and let me tell you, as long as I didn't look out the windows, I felt like I was back in Louisiana...it was g.r.e.a.t. 











The one thing I didn't foresee when stopping at Cane's for lunch was how sleepy it would make my son.  

He couldn't keep his eyes open, so for the better part of the drive, this is how he was:

We arrived at home around 3:30pm and Rob, of course, was still in bed.  But all-in-all, it was a good visit and trip.

Wednesday, August 25, 2010

Bored....

Just wanted to put it out there....I am bored silly!  I have ZERO motivation, ZERO interest and hope I get the job at THD even though it is a 35 minute drive one way.  I don't think it would be so bad except I have to be QUIET all day because Rob is working nights and sleeping days....it's excruciatingly B.O.R.I.N.G.!!!

Whew, ok, so I hope you get it, I'm bored :)